Pulitzer Prize for Fiction – Chronological

1917: no award given
1918: His Family by Ernest Poole
1919: The Magnificent Ambersons by Booth Tarkington

1920: no award given
1921: The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
1922: Alice Adams by Booth Tarkington
1923: One of Ours by Willa Cather
1924: The Able McLaughlins by Margaret Wilson
1925: So Big by Edna Ferber
1926: Arrowsmith by Sinclair Lewis (declined prize)
1927: Early Autumn by Louis Bromfield
1928: The Bridge of San Luis Rey by Thornton Wilder
1929: Scarlet Sister Mary by Julia Peterkin

1930: Laughing Boy by Oliver La Farge
1931: Years of Grace by Margaret Ayer Barnes
1932: The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck
1933: The Store by Thomas Sigismund Stribling
1934: Lamb in His Bosom by Caroline Miller
1935: Now in November by Josephine Winslow Johnson
1936: Honey in the Horn by Harold L. Davis
1937: Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
1938: The Late George Apley by John Phillips Marquand
1939: The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

1940: The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
1941: no award given
1942: In This Our Life by Ellen Glasgow
1943: Dragon’s Teeth by Upton Sinclair
1944: Journey in the Dark by Martin Flavin
1945: A Bell for Adano by John Hersey
1946: no award given
1947: All the King’s Men by Robert Penn Warren
1948: Tales of the South Pacific by James A. Michener
1949: Guard of Honor by James Gould Cozzens
1950: The Way West by A. B. Guthrie, Jr.
1951: The Town by Conrad Richter
1952: The Caine Mutiny by Herman Wouk
1953: The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway
1954: No award given
1955: A Fable by William Faulkner
1956: Andersonville by MacKinlay Kantor
1957: No award given
1958: A Death in the Family by James Agee (posthumous win)
1959: The Travels of Jaimie McPheeters by Robert Lewis Taylor

1960: Advise and Consent by Allen Drury
1961: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
1962: The Edge of Sadness by Edwin O’Connor
1963: The Reivers by William Faulkner (posthumous win)
1964: No award given
1965: The Keepers of the House by Shirley Ann Grau
1966: The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter by Katherine Anne Porter
1967: The Fixer by Bernard Malamud
1968: The Confessions of Nat Turner by William Styron
1969: House Made of Dawn by N. Scott Momaday

1970: Stories of Jean Stafford by Jean Stafford
1971: No award given
1972: Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner
1973: The Optimist’s Daughter by Eudora Welty
1974: No award given (Gravitys Rainbow passed over)
1975: The Killer Angels by Michael Shaara
1976: Humboldt’s Gift by Saul Bellow
1977: No award given
1978: Elbow Room by James Alan McPherson
1979: The Stories of John Cheever by John Cheever

Entries from this point on include the finalists listed after the winner for each year.

1980: The Executioner’s Song by Norman Mailer
Birdy by William Wharton
The Ghost Writer by Philip Roth

1981: A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole (posthumous win)
Godric by Frederick Buechner
So Long, See You Tomorrow by William Maxwell

1982: Rabbit Is Rich by John Updike
A Flag for Sunrise by Robert Stone
Housekeeping by Marilynne Robinson

1983: The Color Purple by Alice Walker
Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant by Anne Tyler
Rabbis and Wives by Chaim Grade

1984: Ironweed by William Kennedy
Cathedral by Raymond Carver
The Feud by Thomas Berger

1985: Foreign Affairs by Alison Lurie
I Wish This War Were Over by Diana O’Hehir
Leaving the Land by Douglas Unger

1986: Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry
The Accidental Tourist by Anne Tyler
Continental Drift by Russell Banks

1987: A Summons to Memphis by Peter Taylor
Paradise by Donald Barthelme
Whites by Norman Rush

1988: Beloved by Toni Morrison
Persian Nights by Diane Johnson
That Night by Alice McDermott

1989: Breathing Lessons by Anne Tyler
Where I’m Calling From by Raymond Carver

1990: The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love by Oscar Hijuelos
Billy Bathgate by E. L. Doctorow

1991: Rabbit at Rest by John Updike
Mean Spirit by Linda Hogan
The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien

1992: A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley
Jernigan by David Gates
Lila: An Inquiry into Morals by Robert M. Pirsig
Mao II by Don DeLillo

1993: A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain by Robert Olen Butler
At Weddings and Wakes by Alice McDermott
Black Water by Joyce Carol Oates

1994: The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx
The Collected Stories by Reynolds Price
Operation Shylock: A Confession by Philip Roth

1995: The Stone Diaries by Carol Shields
The Collected Stories by Grace Paley
What I Lived For by Joyce Carol Oates

1996: Independence Day by Richard Ford
Mr. Ives’ Christmas by Oscar Hijuelos
Sabbath’s Theater by Philip Roth

1997: Martin Dressler: The Tale of an American Dreamer by Steven Millhauser
The Manikin by Joanna Scott
Unlocking the Air and Other Stories by Ursula K. Le Guin

1998: American Pastoral by Philip Roth
Bear and His Daughter: Stories by Robert Stone
Underworld by Don DeLillo

1999: The Hours by Michael Cunningham
Cloudsplitter by Russell Banks
The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver

2000: Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri
Close Range: Wyoming Stories by Annie Proulx
Waiting by Ha Jin

2001: The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon
Blonde by Joyce Carol Oates
The Quick and the Dead by Joy Williams

2002: Empire Falls by Richard Russo
The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen
John Henry Days by Colson Whitehead

2003: Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
Servants of the Map: Stories by Andrea Barrett
You Are Not a Stranger Here by Adam Haslett

2004: The Known World by Edward P. Jones
American Woman by Susan Choi
Evidence of Things Unseen by Marianne Wiggins

2005: Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
An Unfinished Season by Ward Just
War Trash by Ha Jin

2006: March by Geraldine Brooks
The Bright Forever by Lee Martin
The March by E. L. Doctorow

2007: The Road by Cormac McCarthy
After This by Alice McDermott
The Echo Maker by Richard Powers

2008: The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz
Shakespeare’s Kitchen by Lore Segal
Tree of Smoke by Denis Johnson

2009: Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout
All Souls by Christine Schutt
The Plague of Doves by Louise Erdrich

2010: Tinkers by Paul Harding
In Other Rooms, Other Wonders by Daniyal Mueenuddin
Love in Infant Monkeys by Lydia Millet

2011: A Visit From the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
The Privileges by Jonathan Dee
The Surrendered by Chang-rae Lee

2012: No award given.
Train Dreams by Denis Johnson
Swamplandia! by Karen Russell
The Pale King by David Foster Wallace

2013: The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson
What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank by Nathan Englander
The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

2014: The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
The Son by Philipp Meyer
The Woman Who Lost Her Soul by Bob Sacochis

2015: All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
Let Me Be Frank with You by Richard Ford
The Moor’s Account by Laila Lalami
Lovely, Dark, Deep by Joyce Carol Oates

2016: The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen
Get in Trouble: Stories by Kelly Link
Maud’s Line by Margaret Verble

2017: The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
Imagine Me Gone by Adam Haslett
The Sport of Kings by C. E. Morgan

2018: Less by Andrew Sean Greer
In the Distance by Hernan Diaz
The Idiot by Elif Batuman

2019: The Overstory by Richard Powers
The Great Believers by Rebecca Makkai
There, There by Tommy Orange

2020: The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead
The Dutch House by Ann Patchett
The Topeka School by Ben Lerner

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s