Pulitzer Prize for Fiction by Author

Agee James 1958 A Death in the Family

Banks Russell 1986 Finalist Continental Drift
…and Banks Russell 1999 Finalist Cloudsplitter
Barnes Margaret Ayer 1931 Years of Grace
Barrett Andrea 2003 Finalist Servants of the Map: Stories
Barthelme Donald 1987 Finalist Paradise
Bellow Saul 1976 Humboldt’s Gift
Berger Thomas 1984 Finalist The Feud
Bromfield Louis 1927 Early Autumn
Brooks Geraldine 2006 March
Buck Pearl S. 1932 The Good Earth
Buechner Frederick 1981 Finalist Godric
Butler Robert Olen 1993 A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain

Carver Raymond 1984 Finalist Cathedral
…and Carver Raymond 1989 Finalist Where I’m Calling From
Cather Willa 1923 One of Ours
Chabon Michael 2001 The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay
Cheever John 1979 The Stories of John Cheever
Choi Susan 2004 Finalist American Woman
Cozzens James Gould 1949 Guard of Honor
Cunningham Michael 1999 The Hours

Davis Harold L. 1936 Honey in the Horn
Doerr Anthony 2012 All the Light We Cannot See
Dee Jonathan 2011 Finalist The Privileges
Díaz Junot 2008 The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
Díaz Hernan 2018 Finalist In the Distance
Doctorow E. L. 2006 Finalist The March
…and 1990 Finalist Billy Bathgate
Don DeLillo 1992 Finalist Mao II
…and 1990 Finalist Underworld
Drury Allen 1960 Advise and Consent

Egan Jennifer 2011 A Visit From the Goon Squad
Englander Nathan 2013 Finalist What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank
Erdrich Louise 2009 Finalist The Plague of Doves
Eugenides Jeffrey 2003 Middlesex

Faulkner William 1955 A Fable
…and 1963 Winner Faulkner William The Reivers
Ferber Edna 1925 So Big
Flavin Martin 1944 Journey in the Dark
Ford Richard 1996 Independence Day
…and Ford Richard 2015 Finalist Let Me Be Frank with You
Franzen Jonathan 2002 Finalist The Corrections

Gates David 1992 Finalist Jernigan
Glasgow Ellen 1942 In This Our Life
Grade Chaim 1983 Finalist Rabbis and Wives
Grau Shirley Ann 1965 The Keepers of the House
Greer Andrew Sean 2018 Less
Guthrie A. B., Jr. 1950 The Way West

Harding Paul 2010 Tinkers
Haslett Adam 2003 Finalist You Are Not a Stranger Here
Hemingway Ernest 1953 The Old Man and the Sea
Hersey John 1945 A Bell for Adano
Hijuelos Oscar 1990 The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love
…and Hijuelos Oscar 1996 Finalist Mr. Ives’ Christmas
Hogan Linda 1991 Finalist Mean Spirit

Ivey Eowyn 2013 Finalist The Snow Child

Jin Ha 2000 Finalist Waiting
…and Jin Ha 2005 Finalist War Trash
Johnson Adam 2013: The Orphan Master’s Son
Johnson Denis 2008 Finalist Tree of Smoke
…and Johnson Denis 2012 Finalist Train Dreams
Johnson Diane 1988 Finalist Persian Nights
Johnson Josephine Winslow 1935 Now in November
Jones Edward P. 2004 The Known World
Just Ward 2005 Finalist An Unfinished Season

Kantor MacKinlay 1956 Andersonville
Kennedy William 1984: Ironweed
Kingsolver Barbara 1999 Finalist The Poisonwood Bible

La Farge Oliver 1930 Laughing Boy
Lahiri Jhumpa 2000 Interpreter of Maladies
Lalami Laila 2015 Finalist The Moor’s Account
Lee Chang-rae 2011 Finalist The Surrendered
Lee Harper 1961 To Kill a Mockingbird
Le Guin Ursula K. 1997 Finalist Unlocking the Air and Other Stories
Lerner Ben 2020 Finalist The Topeka School
Lewis Sinclair 1926 Arrowsmith
Lurie Alison 1985 Foreign Affairs

Mailer Norman 1980 The Executioner’s Song
Makkai Rebecca 2019 Finalist The Great Believers
Malamud Bernard 1967 The Fixer
Marquand John Phillips 1938 The Late George Apley
Martin Lee 2006 Finalist The Bright Forever
Maxwell William 1981 Finalist So Long, See You Tomorrow
McCarthy Cormac 2007 The Road
McCourt Frank 1997 Nonfiction Angela’s Ashes
McDermott Alice 1988 Finalist That Night
…and McDermott Alice 1993 Finalist At Weddings and Wakes
…and McDermott Alice 2007 Finalist After This
McMurtry Larry 1986 Lonesome Dove
McPherson James Alan 1978 Elbow Room
Meyer Philipp 2014 Finalist The Son
Michener James A. 1948 Tales of the South Pacific
Miller Caroline 1934 Lamb in His Bosom
Millet Lydia 2010 Finalist Love in Infant Monkeys
Millhauser Steven 1997 Martin Dressler: The Tale of an American Dreamer
Mitchell Margaret 1937 Gone with the Wind
Momaday N. Scott 1969 House Made of Dawn
Morrison Toni 1988 Beloved
Mueenuddin Daniyal 2010 Finalist In Other Rooms, Other Wonders
Nguyen Viet Thanh 2016 The Sympathizer

Oates Joyce Carol 1993 Finalist Black Water
…and Oates Joyce Carol 1995 Finalist What I Lived For
…and Oates Joyce Carol 2001 Finalist Blonde
…and Oates Joyce Carol 2015 Finalist Lovely, Dark, Deep
O’Brien Tim 1991 Finalist The Things They Carried
O’Connor Edwin 1962 The Edge of Sadness
O’Hehir Diana 1985 Finalist I Wish This War Were Over
Orange Tommy 2019 Finalist There, There

Paley Grace 1995 Finalist The Collected Stories
Patchett Ann 2020 Finalist The Dutch House
Peterkin Julia 1929 Scarlet Sister Mary
Pirsig Robert M. 1992 Finalist Lila: An Inquiry into Morals
Poole Ernest 1918 His Family
Porter Katherine Anne 1966 The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter
Powers Richard 2007 Finalist The Echo Maker
…and Winner 2019 The Overstory
Price Reynolds 1994 Finalist The Collected Stories
Proulx Annie 1994 The Shipping News
…and 2000 Finalist Close Range: Wyoming Stories

Rawlings Marjorie Kinnan 1939 The Yearling
Richter Conrad 1951 The Town
Robinson Marilynne 1982 Finalist Housekeeping
…and Robinson Marilynne 2005 Gilead
Roth Philip 1980 Finalist The Ghost Writer
…and Roth Philip 1994 Finalist Operation Shylock: A Confession
…and Roth Philip 1996 Finalist Sabbath’s Theater
…and Roth Philip 1998 American Pastoral
Rush Norman 1987 Finalist Whites
Russell Karen 2012 Finalist Swamplandia!
Russo Richard 2002 Empire Falls

Shacochis Bob 2014 Finalist The Woman Who Lost Her Soul
Scott Joanna 1997 Finalist The Manikin
Schutt Christine 2009 Finalist All Souls
Segal Lore 2008 Finalist Shakespeare’s Kitchen
Shaara Michael 1975 The Killer Angels
Shields Carol 1995 The Stone Diaries
Sinclair Upton 1943 Dragon’s Teeth
Smiley Jane 1992 A Thousand Acres
Stafford Jean 1970 Stories of Jean Stafford
Stegner Wallace 1972 Angle of Repose
Steinbeck John 1940 The Grapes of Wrath
Stone Robert 1982 Finalist A Flag for Sunrise
…and Stone Robert 1998 Finalist Bear and His Daughter: Stories
Stribling Thomas Sigismund 1933 The Store
Strout Elizabeth 2009 Olive Kitteridge
Styron William 1968 The Confessions of Nat Turner

Tarkington Booth 1919 The Magnificent Ambersons
…and Tarkington Booth 1922 Alice Adams
Tartt Donna 2014 The Goldfinch
Taylor Peter 1987 A Summons to Memphis
Taylor Robert Lewis 1959 The Travels of Jaimie McPheeters
Toole John Kennedy 1981 A Confederacy of Dunces
Tyler Anne 1989 Breathing Lessons
…and Tyler Anne 1983 Finalist Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant
…and Tyler Anne 1986 Finalist The Accidental Tourist

Updike John 1982 Rabbit Is Rich
…and Updike John 1991 Rabbit at Rest
Unger Douglas 1985 Finalist Leaving the Land

Walker Alice 1983 The Color Purple
Wallace David Foster 2012 Finalist The Pale King
Warren Robert Penn 1947 All the King’s Men
Welty Eudora 1973 The Optimist’s Daughter
Wharton Edith 1921 The Age of Innocence
Wharton William 1980 Finalist Birdy
Whitehead Colson 2002 Finalist John Henry Days
…and Whitehead Colson 2017 The Underground Railroad
…and Whitehead Colson 2020 The Nickel Boys
Wiggins Marianne 2004 Finalist Evidence of Things Unseen
Williams Joy 2001 Finalist The Quick and the Dead
Wilder Thornton 1928 The Bridge of San Luis Rey
Wilson Margaret 1924 The Able McLaughlins
Wouk Herman 1952 The Caine Mutiny

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s